Home Page


Please also visit the parent page:

'Supporting Your Child's Phonic Learning'

Phase One of Letters and Sounds concentrates on developing children's speaking and listening skills and lays the foundations for the phonic work which starts in Phase 2. The emphasis during Phase 1 is to get children attuned to the sounds around them and ready to begin developing oral blending and segmenting skills.

Phase 1 is divided into seven aspects.

Each aspect contains three strands: Tuning in to sounds (auditory discrimination), Listening and remembering sounds (auditory memory and sequencing) and Talking about sounds (developing vocabulary and language comprehension).

The seven strands to enable this are:

Environmental Sounds

Instrumental Sounds

Body Percussion

Rhythm & Rhyme


Voice Sounds

Oral Blending & Segmenting

Rhythm & Rhyme

Instrumental Sounds